Make your own free website on

Exercise Science Portfolio
Motor Development


Newton's Laws
Types of Motion
The Seven Biomechanical Principles
Human Growth and Development
Stages of Human Development
Motor Development
Skill Acquisition
Motor Learning Concepts
Skill Acquisition Process

Phases of Motor Development

There are four phases of motor skill development:

1.) Reflexive movement phase- (0-4 months)
2.) Rudimentary movement phase- (0-2 years)
3.) Fundamental movement phase- (2-7 years)
4.) Sports related movement phase (7 years and up)
Three types of skills
1. Locomotive (moving)
2. Manipulative (handling)
3. Stability (Balancing)